

I know that you can configure synapse to delete messages. However every federated server only operates on their own delete scedule and you as the reciever can’t see the messages then anymore. Which I think is stupid.
The messages should only be stored on the reciever device after they were delivered and deleted on the transfering server.

Well, unless you login and transfer all your keys every time, the client already has all the info required to fetch and decrypt all the messages.